Youth Francophonie Awards

In October 2010, the government awarded its first Ontario Youth Francophonie Award. The award recognizes exceptional Francophones and Francophiles under the age of 25 who are actively involved in the development of their communities.

It is presented every two years alongside the traditional Francophonie Awards that were created in 2006 as part of the celebrations marking the 20th anniversary of the French Language Services Act.

The 2010 youth award was presented to University of Ottawa student Christopher Sisto, while Glendon College principal Kenneth McRoberts and life-long education advocate Jean Comtois were honoured in the Francophile and Francophone categories, respectively.

An independent selection committee appointed by the Minister responsible for Francophone Affairs considers all nominations before selecting recipients.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *