Exemplary Practices

Honourable Mention: Ontario Job Creation Partnership for the London Francophone Consultation Group

The London Francophone Consultation Group, a conglomerate of 25 organizations that provides services in French in the London area, received funding to hire six people through the Ontario Job Creation Partnership (OJCP) program. The Francophone participants selected gained valuable work experience through their involvement in this project and the activities undertaken, such as:

  • the creation of a Francophone Expo, held on September 19, 2013, which featured more than 25 Francophone stakeholders and 250 Anglophone stakeholders. The event was also attended by City of London counsellors, ministry staff and the French Language Services Commissioner;
  • the development of a comprehensive resource for Francophone entrepreneurs seeking to start their own business; the resource provided links to local, municipal, provincial and federal programs and services;
  • the launch of a website and a marketing brochure that provide information on French services in the areas of employment and education, child care, immigrant services, health services, and cultural/sporting and recreational services. The website, hosted by the City of London website, aims to increase the visibility of French-language services available in the London community.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report. The full list of honourable mentions and the relevant blog posts are available here.

Honourable Mention: Identified Health Service Providers Group

The Mississauga Halton LHIN created a group of identified health service providers within its catchment area. The group led by the MHLHIN aims to improve access to culturally and linguistically appropriate health care services in French in the LHIN, as required by the French Language Services Act. This forum provides an opportunity for identified health service providers to discuss topics relating to FLS, such as the latest news and directives, initiatives and programs to support FLS development, funding opportunities, language resources, and best practices and community events.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Honourable Mention: OLG Supports Nine Dedicated Francophone Events Across the Province

With $44,000 in sponsorship money, the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation supported nine dedicated Francophone events across the province this year. The funds supported festivals, film, concerts, dance and business luncheons in French in Toronto, Ottawa and Sault Ste. Marie. OLG’s growing commitment to the Francophone community is reflected in a 96% increase in funding over two years. This heightened support not only helps grassroots organizations and the Francophone community that attends these events; it also promotes the events in diverse, far-reaching and appealing ways within the broader community.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Honourable Mention: Evolution of FLS in the Justice Sector (Strategic Plan Cycle 2)

Justice Sector ministries and Francophone stakeholders’organizations have been participating in the Strategic Plan for the Development of French Language Services in Ontario’s Justice Sector since 2006 in order to improve and modernize access to justice in French. The year 2013 marked the third year of the second phase of the 2011-2015 Strategic Plan.

The directions presented in this new phase are aligned with those exemplified by the government’s adoption of concepts such as FLS results-based planning, diversity and inclusion, and integration of FLS in the accountability mechanisms within the Ontario Public Service, as well as with the Research Study on theMechanisms of Offer and Demand for FLS in Ontario’s Justice Sector. In addition, the recommendations made by the French Language Services Commissioner complement and guide the identified directions.

At the Annual Francophone Stakeholders Meetings, which are part of the strategic planning process, Justice Sector ministers and senior managers take the opportunity to address the participants and show by their presence and encouraging words their unconditional support for the partnership and consultations undertaken with the community. These meetings provide a forum where all key partners can sit at the table, define FLS priorities and potential solutions, and create linkages and partnerships to meet the needs of the Francophone community.

Progress reports submitted each year during these meetings clearly reflect the efforts undertaken by the various divisions to implement the guiding principles and the mission of the new cycle of the Strategic Plan. Specific initiatives and best practices are consolidated in the Annual Report of the Francophone Stakeholders Meeting.

The consensus from both the Justice Sector and the stakeholders is that this consultation process and the Annual Francophone StakeholdersMeetingsare essential to better understand the needs of the Francophone community and strengthen our relationships. The stakeholders play a crucial role by encouraging us to remain vigilant and keep moving in the right direction.

This government-community partnership has been extremely successful and has helped to consolidate the joint efforts and create positive and productive relations between the community and governmental partners.

 

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Honourable Mention: Collaborative Care Project for Francophone Seniors

The Central West LHIN and its Entity, Reflet Salvéo, partnered to create a collaborative care project focused on Francophone seniors. The goal of the initiative was to enable the community to identify care needs and build a business case to address them. With the leadership and support of the LHIN and the Entity, community members met and participated in an engagement and planning process in order to draft a business case.

Community members from Francophone seniors groups, community centres, health service providers and community colleges were mobilized for the collaborative care project and engaged in the development of the LHIN’s Seniors Strategy. Through community engagement sessions and a survey, this project is building capacity within the community. In addition, the community was able to better understand their health needs and the process of service planning, and provided the LHIN with valuable information and guidance in drafting its SeniorsStrategy.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Honourable Mention: French Language Services Toolkit

The Erie St. Clair and South West LHINs put together a French Language Services Toolkit as a comprehensive resource to support health service providers in implementing and delivering quality services and meeting the needs of their French-speaking patients and clients.

The Toolkit provides an overview on a variety of subjects related to the delivery of services in French. Each section is designed to provide useful information and practical tools to make delivery of services in French as easy as possible. Providers will find basic information on the Francophone community, active offer of French-language services, human resources, training, translation and interpretation, supporting legislation and thehealthline.ca. The Toolkit also contains fact sheets, lists of resources, flyers, badges, a lanyard and signs to promote the delivery of services in French. It can be easily adapted for use in other areas of the province or for non-health service providers.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Pratiques exemplaires

Mention honorable : Groupe consultatif francophone de London – Partenariats pour la création d’emplois de l’Ontario

Le groupe consultatif francophone de London, un conglomérat de 25 organismes qui offrent des services en français dans la région de London, a reçu une subvention pour embaucher six personnes grâce au programme Partenariats pour la création d’emplois de l’Ontario (PCEO). Les citoyennes et citoyens francophones choisis ont pu tirer une précieuse expérience de travail de leur participation à ce projet et à des activités tels que :

  • La création d’une expo francophone, tenue le 19 septembre 2013, et à laquelle ont participé plus de 25 intervenants francophones et 250 intervenants anglophones. L’événement a reçu la visite de conseillères et conseillers de la Ville de London, de fonctionnaires et du commissaire aux services en français;
  • L’élaboration de ressources exhaustives destinées aux entrepreneurs francophones qui cherchent à démarrer leur propre entreprise en les mettant en lien avec des programmes et des services locaux, municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux;
  • Le lancement d’un site Web et d’une brochure commerciale offrant des renseignements sur les services en français dans les secteurs de l’emploi et de l’éducation, des services de garde, des services aux immigrants, des services en santé, ainsi que des services culturels, sportifs et récréatifs. Le site Web, hébergé sur le site de la Ville de London, a pour objectif d’accroître la visibilité des services en français dans la communauté de London.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable : Groupe de fournisseurs de services de santé identifiés

Le RLISS de Mississauga Halton a créé un groupe de fournisseurs de services de santé identifiés au sein de la région où ses services sont offerts. Le groupe, sous la gouverne du RLISS de Mississauga Halton, cherche à améliorer l’accès à des services de santé en français, appropriés sur le plan culturel et linguistique, au sein même du RLISS, conformément à la Loi sur les services en français. Ce groupe donne l’occasion à ses membres de débattre de sujets en lien avec les services en français, en se penchant notamment sur les plus récentes nouvelles et directives, les initiatives et programmes en appui à leur développement, les possibilités de financement, les ressources linguistiques, les meilleures pratiques et les événements communautaires.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable: OLG soutient neuf événements dédiés aux francophones à travers la province

En injectant un montant de 44 000 $ en commandite, la Société des loteries et des jeux de l’Ontario (OLG) a apporté son soutien à neuf événements dédiés aux francophones à travers la province cette année. Ces fonds ont soutenu des festivals, du cinéma, des concerts, de la danse et des déjeuners d’affaires en français à Toronto, Ottawa et Sault Ste-Marie. L’engagement accru d’OLG à la communauté francophone se traduit par une augmentation de 96 % en fonds de commandite au cours des deux prochaines années. Ce soutien accru aide non seulement les organisations communautaires et la communauté francophone qui fréquentent ces événements, mais il favorise également la promotion des événements de manières diverses, attrayantes et de grande portée au sein de la communauté élargie.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable : Évolution des services de justice en français (Seconde phase du plan stratégique)

Depuis 2006, les ministères et les intervenants francophones du secteur de la justice participent au Plan stratégique pour le développement des services en français dans le domaine de la justice en Ontario dans le but d’améliorer et de moderniser l’accès aux services de justice en français. L’année 2013 marquait la troisième année de la seconde phase du plan stratégique 2011-2015.

Les orientations présentées dans cette nouvelle phase correspondent à celles qui sont formulées par le gouvernement, adoptant des concepts tels que la planification axée sur les résultats des services en français, la diversité et l’inclusion, l’intégration des services en français dans les mécanismes de responsabilisation au sein du secteur public de l’Ontario, ainsi que l’étude sur les mécanismes de l’offre et de la demande pour des services en français dans le secteur de la justice en Ontario. De plus, les recommandations faites par le commissaire aux services en français viennent compléter et guider les orientations définies.

Les ministres et les hauts fonctionnaires du secteur de la justice profitent des réunions annuelles des intervenants francophones, qui font partie du processus de planification stratégique, pour s’adresser aux participants et manifester, par leur présence et leurs propos encourageants, leur appui inconditionnel à l’égard du partenariat et des consultations entreprises avec la communauté. Ces réunions sont l’occasion pour tous les partenaires clés de se rassembler afin de définir les priorités et les solutions éventuelles en matière de services en français, et de créer des liens et des partenariats pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté francophone.

Les rapports d’avancement présentés chaque année durant ces réunions témoignent indubitablement des efforts entrepris par différents intervenants pour mettre en œuvre les principes directeurs et mener à bien la mission du nouveau cycle de planification stratégique. Les initiatives concrètes et les meilleures pratiques sont regroupées dans le rapport annuel de la réunion des intervenants francophones.

Le secteur de la justice et les différents intervenants s’entendent pour dire que ce processus de consultation et les réunions annuelles des intervenants francophones sont indispensables pour mieux comprendre les besoins de la communauté francophone et pour resserrer nos liens. Les intervenants jouent un rôle de premier plan en nous encourageant à demeurer vigilants et à poursuivre dans la bonne direction.

Ce partenariat entre le gouvernement et la communauté s’est révélé extrêmement concluant. Il a permis de consolider les efforts communs et de créer des relations positives et productives entre la communauté et les partenaires gouvernementaux.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable: Projet de soins axés sur la collaboration pour les aînés francophones

Le RLISS du Centre-Ouest et son entité, Reflet Salvéo, se sont associés pour mettre sur pied un projet de soins axés sur la collaboration à l’intention des aînés francophones. Cette initiative avait pour but d’aider la communauté à définir les besoins en matière de soins et à préparer une analyse de rentabilité pour y répondre. Grâce au leadership et au soutien du RLISS et de l’entité, les membres de la communauté se sont rassemblés pour étudier un processus de planification et d’engagement en vue d’élaborer une analyse de rentabilité.

Des membres de la communauté en lien avec des groupes d’aînés, des centres communautaires, des fournisseurs de services de santé et des collèges communautaires de langue française ont été mobilisés pour le projet de soins axés sur la collaboration et se sont engagés à l’égard du développement d’une stratégie pour les aînés du RLISS. Au moyen de séances de mobilisation communautaire et d’un sondage, ce projet permet de renforcer les capacités au sein de la communauté. Qui plus est, la communauté a été en mesure de mieux comprendre les besoins des aînés en matière de santé et le processus de planification des services, en plus de fournir au RLISS des renseignements et des conseils précieux pour rédiger sa stratégie pour les aînés.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable : Trousse d’outils sur les services en français

Les RLISS d’Érié St-Clair et du Sud-Ouest ont créé une trousse d’outils sur les services en français, une ressource exhaustive pour aider les organismes de soins de santé à offrir des services de qualité aux patientes et patients et aux clientes et clients de langue française et à répondre à leurs besoins.

La trousse couvre une foule de sujets en lien avec l’offre de services en français. Chaque section est conçue de façon à présenter des renseignements utiles et des outils pratiques pour faciliter autant que possible la prestation de services en français. Les fournisseurs de services y trouveront des renseignements essentiels sur la communauté francophone, l’offre active de services en français, les ressources humaines, la formation, la traduction et l’interprétation, les mesures législatives et lignesante.ca. La trousse contient aussi des feuillets de renseignements, des listes de ressources, des dépliants, des insignes, un cordon et des enseignes pour promouvoir la prestation de services en français. Facile à adapter, elle peut devenir une ressource utile dans d’autres régions de la province ou d’autres secteurs sans lien avec la santé. 

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.