Collaboration

Honourable Mention: Evolution of FLS in the Justice Sector (Strategic Plan Cycle 2)

Justice Sector ministries and Francophone stakeholders’organizations have been participating in the Strategic Plan for the Development of French Language Services in Ontario’s Justice Sector since 2006 in order to improve and modernize access to justice in French. The year 2013 marked the third year of the second phase of the 2011-2015 Strategic Plan.

The directions presented in this new phase are aligned with those exemplified by the government’s adoption of concepts such as FLS results-based planning, diversity and inclusion, and integration of FLS in the accountability mechanisms within the Ontario Public Service, as well as with the Research Study on theMechanisms of Offer and Demand for FLS in Ontario’s Justice Sector. In addition, the recommendations made by the French Language Services Commissioner complement and guide the identified directions.

At the Annual Francophone Stakeholders Meetings, which are part of the strategic planning process, Justice Sector ministers and senior managers take the opportunity to address the participants and show by their presence and encouraging words their unconditional support for the partnership and consultations undertaken with the community. These meetings provide a forum where all key partners can sit at the table, define FLS priorities and potential solutions, and create linkages and partnerships to meet the needs of the Francophone community.

Progress reports submitted each year during these meetings clearly reflect the efforts undertaken by the various divisions to implement the guiding principles and the mission of the new cycle of the Strategic Plan. Specific initiatives and best practices are consolidated in the Annual Report of the Francophone Stakeholders Meeting.

The consensus from both the Justice Sector and the stakeholders is that this consultation process and the Annual Francophone StakeholdersMeetingsare essential to better understand the needs of the Francophone community and strengthen our relationships. The stakeholders play a crucial role by encouraging us to remain vigilant and keep moving in the right direction.

This government-community partnership has been extremely successful and has helped to consolidate the joint efforts and create positive and productive relations between the community and governmental partners.

 

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Honourable Mention: French Language Services Toolkit

The Erie St. Clair and South West LHINs put together a French Language Services Toolkit as a comprehensive resource to support health service providers in implementing and delivering quality services and meeting the needs of their French-speaking patients and clients.

The Toolkit provides an overview on a variety of subjects related to the delivery of services in French. Each section is designed to provide useful information and practical tools to make delivery of services in French as easy as possible. Providers will find basic information on the Francophone community, active offer of French-language services, human resources, training, translation and interpretation, supporting legislation and thehealthline.ca. The Toolkit also contains fact sheets, lists of resources, flyers, badges, a lanyard and signs to promote the delivery of services in French. It can be easily adapted for use in other areas of the province or for non-health service providers.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Honourable Mention : « Le français au travail »

In February 2014, the South East Regional French Language Network* offered a one-day training event for the bilingual staff of the MCSS and the MCYS and transfer payment agencies serving Kingston. The goal of the event was to support and encourage bilingual staff working within largely Anglophone organizations, some of whom are the only French-speaking staff members in their workplace.

The event was designed to strengthen their confidence in their job as bilingual professionals by providing them with tools and resources. It was an opportunity to engage and network for the 60 participants from various French-speaking social services organizations as well as OPS ministries and agencies.

The agenda for the learning sessions included discussions on bilingual customer service, an introduction to Antidote, online training resources in French and interactive group discussions focused on the health, justice and social services sectors. Following the event, a facilitator’s guide and toolkit were developed so that the event could be easily replicated in other communities.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

*Available in French only

Honourable Mention: Commitment to Core French, Extended French and French Immersion Students in Ontario

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)* is the reference framework used at the international level to describe the proficiency of learners of a second language, including French. It was designed to provide a transparent, coherent and comprehensive basis for the development of language syllabuses and curriculum guidelines, the design of teaching and learning materials, and the assessment of foreign language proficiency.

In the past four years, the CEFR has been deployed in Ontario’s 60 English-language school boards as a tool to inform planning, instruction and assessment practices in French-as-a-second-language (FSL) courses. This initiative represents a commitment to helping Core French, Extended French and French Immersion students to improve their functional French-language skills. In applying these international guidelines, the Ontario government is committed to

  • increasing student confidence, proficiency and achievement;
  • increasing the percentage of students studying FSL until graduation;
  • increasing student, educator, parent and community engagement in FSL.

This common framework of reference could also possibly be a good basis for discussion among governments and the private sector to develop a common basis of assessment of language skills, as opposed to everyone having different standards. To be followed.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

*Website available in French only

Honourable Mention: Seatbelt Campaign, Road Safety Challenge and Road Safety Community Partnership Program

The Road Safety Marketing Office has made progress in reaching out to Francophone stakeholders. All grant funding applications are available in French, and a concerted effort to share them with Francophone stakeholders in all areas designated under the French Language Services Act has paid off, as it has allowed the Ministry of Transportation to create new partnerships with these stakeholders.

Several groups, including the “Club Optimiste de Vanier”, the “Club Optimiste de BFC”and Hawkesbury’s “Comitéd’action régionale de la sécuritéroutière”, have already taken advantage of funding for their respective road safety initiatives, Road Safety Challenge activities and upcoming seatbelt campaigns.

By partnering with Francophone stakeholders and communities, the Ministry supports their growth and inclusion through its service delivery approach.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report The full list of honourable mentions and the relevant blog posts are available here.

Honourable Mention: Improving Access to Mental Health

On a monthly basis, the Waterloo Wellington LHIN holds a mental health “Café”for discussions and information-sharing on the management of mental health cases. The program has been expanded to include French-speaking psychologists and to make it accessible either in person or via telemedicine. The Cafénow invites members of the Francophone community to meet with a French-speaking psychologist to discuss various topics and share best practices when dealing with difficult situations or challenging cases. Although Waterloo Wellington is one of the fastest-growing and increasingly diverse regions in Ontario, it is not a designated area under the  French Language Services Act.

The Honourable Mentions Series is a series of 11 blog posts that the Commissioner is releasing to individually recognize the leadership shown by government ministries and agencies that have made efforts to expand the delivery of high-quality French-language services, as listed in his 2013-2014 Annual Report here.

Collaboration

Mention honorable : Évolution des services de justice en français (Seconde phase du plan stratégique)

Depuis 2006, les ministères et les intervenants francophones du secteur de la justice participent au Plan stratégique pour le développement des services en français dans le domaine de la justice en Ontario dans le but d’améliorer et de moderniser l’accès aux services de justice en français. L’année 2013 marquait la troisième année de la seconde phase du plan stratégique 2011-2015.

Les orientations présentées dans cette nouvelle phase correspondent à celles qui sont formulées par le gouvernement, adoptant des concepts tels que la planification axée sur les résultats des services en français, la diversité et l’inclusion, l’intégration des services en français dans les mécanismes de responsabilisation au sein du secteur public de l’Ontario, ainsi que l’étude sur les mécanismes de l’offre et de la demande pour des services en français dans le secteur de la justice en Ontario. De plus, les recommandations faites par le commissaire aux services en français viennent compléter et guider les orientations définies.

Les ministres et les hauts fonctionnaires du secteur de la justice profitent des réunions annuelles des intervenants francophones, qui font partie du processus de planification stratégique, pour s’adresser aux participants et manifester, par leur présence et leurs propos encourageants, leur appui inconditionnel à l’égard du partenariat et des consultations entreprises avec la communauté. Ces réunions sont l’occasion pour tous les partenaires clés de se rassembler afin de définir les priorités et les solutions éventuelles en matière de services en français, et de créer des liens et des partenariats pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté francophone.

Les rapports d’avancement présentés chaque année durant ces réunions témoignent indubitablement des efforts entrepris par différents intervenants pour mettre en œuvre les principes directeurs et mener à bien la mission du nouveau cycle de planification stratégique. Les initiatives concrètes et les meilleures pratiques sont regroupées dans le rapport annuel de la réunion des intervenants francophones.

Le secteur de la justice et les différents intervenants s’entendent pour dire que ce processus de consultation et les réunions annuelles des intervenants francophones sont indispensables pour mieux comprendre les besoins de la communauté francophone et pour resserrer nos liens. Les intervenants jouent un rôle de premier plan en nous encourageant à demeurer vigilants et à poursuivre dans la bonne direction.

Ce partenariat entre le gouvernement et la communauté s’est révélé extrêmement concluant. Il a permis de consolider les efforts communs et de créer des relations positives et productives entre la communauté et les partenaires gouvernementaux.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable : Trousse d’outils sur les services en français

Les RLISS d’Érié St-Clair et du Sud-Ouest ont créé une trousse d’outils sur les services en français, une ressource exhaustive pour aider les organismes de soins de santé à offrir des services de qualité aux patientes et patients et aux clientes et clients de langue française et à répondre à leurs besoins.

La trousse couvre une foule de sujets en lien avec l’offre de services en français. Chaque section est conçue de façon à présenter des renseignements utiles et des outils pratiques pour faciliter autant que possible la prestation de services en français. Les fournisseurs de services y trouveront des renseignements essentiels sur la communauté francophone, l’offre active de services en français, les ressources humaines, la formation, la traduction et l’interprétation, les mesures législatives et lignesante.ca. La trousse contient aussi des feuillets de renseignements, des listes de ressources, des dépliants, des insignes, un cordon et des enseignes pour promouvoir la prestation de services en français. Facile à adapter, elle peut devenir une ressource utile dans d’autres régions de la province ou d’autres secteurs sans lien avec la santé. 

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable : Le français au travail

En février 2014, le Réseau régional de langue française du Sud-Est a offert une journée de formation au personnel bilingue du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires, du ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse et des organismes de paiement de transfert qui assurent des services à Kingston. L’objectif était de soutenir et d’encourager les membres du personnel bilingues qui travaillent au sein d’organismes largement anglophones, certains étant les seuls à parler français sur leur lieu de travail.

L’événement visait à renforcer leur confiance en leur travail en tant que professionnels bilingues en leur proposant des outils et des ressources. C’était une occasion d’échanger et d’établir des liens avec une soixantaine de participantes et participants de langue française provenant de différents services sociaux, organismes et ministères de la FPO.

Les séances de travail proposaient des discussions sur les services à la clientèle bilingue, une présentation d’Antidote, des ressources de formation en ligne en français et des discussions interactives de groupe sur la santé, la justice et les services sociaux. À l’issue de la journée, un guide d’animation et une trousse ont été développés afin que cet exercice puisse être facilement répété dans d’autres communautés.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable: Engagement envers les élèves des programmes de français de base, de français intensif et d’immersion française en Ontario

Le Cadre européen commun de référence pour les langues (CECRL) est un outil utilisé à l’échelle mondiale pour décrire les compétences des élèves d’une seconde langue, incluant le français. Son objectif est d’offrir une base exhaustive, transparente et cohérente pour l’élaboration de programmes de langues vivantes et de référentiels, la conception de matériel d’enseignement et d’apprentissage, et l’évaluation des compétences en langue étrangère.

Au cours des quatre dernières années, le CECRL a été mis en œuvre dans 60 conseils scolaires de langue anglaise en Ontario comme outil pour orienter les pratiques de planification, d’enseignement et d’évaluation du français langue seconde. Cette initiative démontre un engagement envers les élèves des programmes de français de base, de français intensif et d’immersion française pour les aider à améliorer leurs compétences fonctionnelles en français. En mettant en application ces lignes directrices internationales, le gouvernement de l’Ontario entend :

  • améliorer l’assurance, la maîtrise de la langue et le rendement des élèves;
  • augmenter le pourcentage d’élèves qui étudient le français comme langue seconde jusqu’à l’obtention du diplôme;
  • accroître l’engagement des élèves, des éducatrices et éducateurs, des parents et de la communauté à l’égard du français langue seconde.

Ce cadre commun de référence pourrait aussi, éventuellement, être une belle base de discussion entre les divers gouvernements ainsi que l’entreprise privée afin de se doter de base commune d’évaluation des compétences linguistiques, au lieu que tous aient des normes différentes. À suivre.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable: Campagne de sensibilisation au port de la ceinture de sécurité, défi de la sécurité routière et programme de partenariat communautaire sur la sécurité routière

Le Bureau de la promotion de la sécurité routière a accompli des progrès pour s’ouvrir aux intervenants francophones. Toutes les demandes de subvention sont maintenant disponibles en français et un effort concerté pour les faire connaître aux intervenants francophones, dans toutes les régions désignées en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français, a fini par payer, puisqu’il a permis au ministère des Transports de bâtir de nouveaux partenariats avec ces intervenants.

Plusieurs groupes comme le Club Optimiste de Vanier, le Club Optimiste de BFC et le Comité d’action régionale de la sécurité routière de Hawkesbury ont déjà profité de ces subventions pour financer respectivement leurs initiatives de sécurité routière, leurs activités du défi de la sécurité routière et leurs prochaines campagnes de sensibilisation au port de la ceinture de sécurité.

En s’associant aux intervenants et aux communautés francophones, le ministère favorise leur croissance et leur inclusion par son approche de prestation de services.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.

Mention honorable: Améliorer l’accès en santé mentale

Chaque mois, le RLISS de Waterloo Wellington organise un café-rencontre sur la santé mentale afin de favoriser le dialogue et l’échange d’information sur la gestion de cas en santé mentale. Le programme a été élargi afin d’accueillir des psychologues de langue française et d’assurer ainsi un meilleur accès, en personne ou par télémédecine. Le café-rencontre invite maintenant les membres de la communauté francophone à venir rencontrer un psychologue de langue française pour discuter de différents sujets et échanger sur les meilleures pratiques pour aborder les situations difficiles et les cas complexes. Bien que Waterloo Wellington soit l’une des régions les plus diversifiées qui enregistrent l’une des plus fortes croissances en Ontario, ce n’est pas une région désignée en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français.

La série des mentions honorables est une série de 11 billets que le commissaire publie pour souligner individuellement le leadership exercé par des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser une plus grande offre de services de qualité en français énumérée dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014. La liste complète des mentions honorables est disponible ici.