Mandate

The French Language Services Commissioner has a mandate to conduct independent investigations under the French Language Services Act, either in response to complaints or on his own initiative, to prepare reports on his investigations, and to monitor the progress made by government agencies in the delivery of French-language services in Ontario.

The French Language Services Commissioner reports directly to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario. He advises parliamentarians and makes recommendations to them with respect to the application of the Act.

The Commissioner shall hold office for a term of five years and may be reappointed for one further term of five years. Commissioner François Boileau, who was in office immediately before the French Language Services Amendment Act (French Language Services Commissioner), 2013 comes into force, shall continue to hold office until confirmed in office.

Vision

The Office of the French Language Services Commissioner works to ensure active, integrated delivery of French-language services in support of the development of the Francophone community and Ontarian society.

Mission

The mission of the Office of the French Language Services Commissioner is to ensure that the public receives high-quality French-language services from the Government of Ontario.

Through its powers of investigation, it monitors the application of the French Language Services Act.

It strongly encourages government ministries and agencies to proactively design policies and programs that are adapted to their Francophone clientele, notably through its power to make recommendations.

Values

The 5 key values of the Office of the French Language Services Commissioner are:

  • Listening;
  • Transparency;
  • Integrity;
  • Quality;
  • Respect.

Role

Listening to the Francophone community, as well as those who support its development, the Commissioner’s primary roles are:

  • To receive and handle complaints and to follow up on them;
  • To increase the public service’s awareness of the public’s expectations;
  • To exercise its powers of investigation and to make recommendations with respect to the delivery of French-language services;
  • To advise the Minister responsible for Francophone Affairs and make recommendations to her.

Mandat

Le commissaire aux services en français est chargé de mener des enquêtes indépendantes selon la Loi sur les services en français, par suite de plaintes ou de sa propre initiative, de préparer des rapports sur les enquêtes et de surveiller les progrès accomplis par les organismes gouvernementaux en ce qui concerne la prestation des services en français en Ontario.

Le commissaire relève directement de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario. À ce titre, il conseille les parlementaires et leur propose des recommandations liées à l’application de la Loi.

Le commissaire occupe son poste pour un mandat de cinq ans renouvelable une fois. Le commissaire François Boileau, qui était en poste immédiatement avant l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi de 2013 modifiant la Loi sur les services en français (commissaire aux services en français), demeure en poste jusqu’à ce qu’il soit confirmé dans celui-ci.

Vision

Le Commissariat aux services en français agit pour assurer une prestation active et intégrée des services en français, en appui au développement de la communauté francophone, et du coup, de la société ontarienne.

Mission

Le Commissariat aux services en français veille à ce que la population reçoive, en français, des services de qualité du gouvernement de l’Ontario.

Il surveille l’application de la Loi sur les services en français grâce à son pouvoir d’enquête.

Il exhorte les ministères et organismes gouvernementaux à concevoir de façon proactive des politiques et des programmes adaptés à leur clientèle francophone. Il y parvient notamment par l’entremise de son pouvoir de recommandation.

Valeurs

Les 5 valeurs clés du Commissariat sont:

  • L’écoute;
  • La transparence;
  • L’intégrité;
  • La qualité;
  • Le respect.

Rôle

À l’écoute de la communauté francophone ainsi que de tous ceux et celles qui appuient son développement, le Commissariat cumule les rôles suivants :

  • Recevoir, traiter les plaintes et assurer leur suivi;
  • Sensibiliser la fonction publique sur les attentes des citoyens;
  • Exercer ses pouvoirs d’enquête et de recommandation en matière de prestations des services en français;
  • Conseiller la ministre déléguée aux Affaires francophones et lui proposer des recommandations.