Commissioner

Biography

Official photo

Mr. François Boileau has been the French Language Services Commissioner since August 2007. Following an amendment to the French Language Services Act in 2013, he no longer reported to a Cabinet minister; instead, he became an independent Officer of the Legislative Assembly. Subsequently, in November 2016, the Legislature renewed his term for another five years. His role consists mainly in receiving complaints from members of the public and making recommendations on matters pertaining to the implementation of the French Language Services Act.

Before his appointment as Commissioner, Mr. Boileau served as legal counsel for the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages with responsibility for landmark cases such as Casimir-Solski and Gosselin, which went before the Supreme Court of Canada.

From 1993 to 2003, he held various positions with the Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada (FCFA), at its Québec City office, including director, political and legal liaison officer, and legal counsel. One of his most important achievements during that time was representing the FCFA before the Ontario Court of Appeal in the Montfort case. For this case, he devised strategies and played a pivotal role in legal coordination of the interveners, which included the Commissioner of Official Languages of Canada and the Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario (ACFO).

From 1995 to 1997, in Winnipeg, Mr. Boileau became the first executive director of the Court Challenges Program of Canada. During his tenure, he developed the organization’s strategic priorities and operational plans. He also headed up the language rights component of the program and acted as its official spokesperson for media, government and community stakeholders, along with many other functions.

Since his appointment, Commissioner Boileau has worked to improve the quality of French-language services in Ontario in order to meet the needs of the Francophone community, ensure its full development and preserve its culture and language.

The Commissioner has the power to make recommendations on matters pertaining to the implementation of the French Language Services Act. The Commissioner is appointed for a five-year term, which may be renewed only once.

In addition to a Law Degree (LL.L.) from the University of Ottawa (1991), Mr. Boileau holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science (1988) and a Certificate in History (1985) from the Université de Montréal.

Mr. Boileau has published several articles about language rights and has been invited to many conferences as a guest speaker. He has also volunteered for legal organizations such as Lawyers Without Borders as well as for several Francophone organizations.

In 2011, François Boileau was awarded the Order of Merit of the Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario. In 2015, he received the Order of Merit of the Civil law section from the Faculty of law of the University of Ottawa.

 

A Message from the Commissioner

I am proud to welcome you to our website!

It is both a privilege and a pleasure to listen to the citizens of this province so that they can be served more adequately in their own language.

My vision of French-language services is basically one of a vital Francophone population. I believe that there is a direct connection between the development of communities and the delivery of services that are adapted to their needs and that are actively offered to them by the government and its institutions.

One of my roles is to work with the Ontario public service to improve its delivery of services in French. Since my appointment, I have raised awareness of the importance of taking Francophones into account as a distinct clientele in every part of the province. For Ontario’s Francophones, living, growing, and developing in French is of vital importance.

Together, we must be able to give the French Language Services Act its full meaning. The services of the Government of Ontario are available in French. Ask for them!

François Boileau
French Language Services Commissioner

Commissaire

Biographie

Official photo

Me François Boileau occupe le poste de commissaire aux services en français depuis août 2007. En 2013, la Loi sur les services en français est modifiée de telle sorte qu’il ne relève plus d’un ministre, mais de l’Assemblée législative, à titre d’officier indépendant.  Suite à cette modification, en novembre 2016, son mandat a été reconduit par l’Assemblée pour une nouvelle période de cinq années. Son rôle consiste principalement à recevoir des plaintes du public et à présenter des recommandations sur les questions touchant l’application de la Loi sur les services en français.

Avant de devenir commissaire, il était conseiller juridique au Commissariat aux langues officielles où il a mené des causes importantes comme celles de Casimir-Solski et Gosselin devant la Cour suprême du Canada.

De 1993 à 2003, il a occupé plusieurs fonctions à la Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada (FCFA), au bureau de Québec, dont ceux de directeur, agent de liaison politique et juridique, et avocat-conseil. L’une de ses réalisations les plus importantes a été de représenter la FCFA devant la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario dans l’affaire Montfort. Il y a établi des stratégies et a assuré un rôle pivot dans la coordination juridique des intervenants, dont la commissaire aux langues officielles et l’Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario.

De 1995 à 1997, M. Boileau a été le premier directeur général du Programme de contestation judiciaire du Canada à Winnipeg. Il y a élaboré les priorités stratégiques et les plans opérationnels de l’organisme en plus d’en être le porte-parole officiel auprès des médias, du gouvernement et du public. Il a aussi assuré la direction du volet des droits linguistiques et rempli de nombreuses autres fonctions.

Depuis sa nomination, M. Boileau travaille à améliorer la qualité des services en français en Ontario afin de répondre aux besoins de la communauté francophone, d’en assurer son plein développement et lui permettre de préserver sa culture et sa langue.

Le commissaire a un pouvoir de recommandation sur les questions touchant l’application de la Loi.  Le mandat du commissaire est de cinq ans, renouvelable qu’une seule fois.

Outre sa licence en droit (LL.L.) de l’Université d’Ottawa (1991), M. Boileau détient un baccalauréat en science politique (1988) et un certificat en histoire (1985) de l’Université de Montréal.

Me Boileau a publié plusieurs articles au sujet des droits linguistiques et a participé à un grand nombre de conférences en tant qu’orateur invité. Il a aussi travaillé comme bénévole pour des organismes œuvrant dans le domaine du droit tels qu’Avocats sans frontières de même que pour plusieurs organisations francophones.

En 2011, François Boileau s’est vu décerner l’Ordre du mérite de l’Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario (AJEFO). En 2015, il reçoit l’Ordre du mérite de la Section de droit civil de la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Message du commissaire

C’est avec fierté que je vous souhaite la bienvenue sur notre site Web!

C’est un privilège et tout un plaisir de pouvoir être à l’écoute des citoyennes et citoyens de cette province afin de mieux les servir dans leur langue.

Ma vision des services en français porte essentiellement sur la vitalité de la population francophone. J’associe directement le développement des communautés avec les services adaptés à leurs besoins que leur offrent activement le gouvernement et ses institutions.

D’ailleurs, l’un de mes rôles consiste à travailler de concert avec la fonction publique de l’Ontario afin d’améliorer la prestation des services en français. Dès ma nomination, j’ai exprimé ma détermination de tenir compte des francophones comme clientèle particulière à travers la province. Il est primordial que la population francophone puisse vivre, grandir et se développer en français en Ontario.

Il faut qu’ensemble nous puissions donner tout le sens à la Loi sur les services en français. Les services du gouvernement de l’Ontario sont disponibles en français. Demandez-les!

François Boileau
Commissaire aux services en français